I am David

About

My name is David Adrián Cañones Castellano and I am a Data Scientist, Machine Learning Engineer and Independent Maker. Love traveling, gaming & hardware, music and family.

MSc Industrial Engineer by training, I am actually involved in Data Science projects, specially taking advantage of data to train Machine Learning models. I also made some web dev and create products around my field of expertise for fun.

I was first in touch with the startup scene during my MBA studies in 2015. Since then, I have been involved in some side projects, alone and in company. Some of these project failed miserably, but some others are in progress and look really promising.

Love

Traveling:

I travel as frequently as I can, but staying in a place for a short period of time and with little to zero real interaction with local people and culture (asking for a meal in a restaurant obviously does not count) is not enough for me, that is why I am planning to move into digital nomadism for a while, or at least, reallocate to another country or get a 100% remote job that allows me to be location independent.

This is me visiting the Forbidden City:

Picture of David visiting the Forbidden City

Gaming & Hardware:

Although lately I am using my powerful graphics cards to train neural networks rather than gaming I am a hobbist gamer. Among my favourites are: Zelda, The Witcher, Mass Effect and World of Warcraft, which I play with my girlfriend.

This is me having a break from coding, a couple years younger:

Picture of David playing video games

I even have an almost empty Youtube channel where I plan to upload all those amazing gameplays I don’t have time to record, check the link in the bottom of this page.

Obviously I am also a big fan of powerful computers and cutting-edge technology hardware. For years, I have been involved in overclocking competitions and hardware online communities as a very active member and sometimes forum moderator.

Music:

I listen to music all the time (literally I am addicted to it) and I touch almost all genres, specially hip-hop, rock and new age. More recently I am into electronic music, mostly vaporwave. In the past, I studied 10 years of piano and I still enjoy listening to classical composers among with other modern ones like Ryuichi Sakamoto, Nobuo Uematsu, Lang Lang or Joe Hisaishi.

One thing I’d like to accomplish in the mid term future is learning to create my own electronic music using tools like MIDI keyboards and FL Studio, but at this moment I only have time for my job and side projects so it will have to wait (a lot).

Family:

Love spending time with my family and share my life with Cristina for more than 11 years now:

Cristina

At this moment I live in Madrid:

Picture of Madrid